My Future

I have the biggest plans for my future. And I plan to conquer each one.

When I was a young girl, I really believed that I was going to be a teacher. Any chance I got to sneak a peak at the Teacher’s Edition of any textbook that we had, I took it. I loved the thought of teaching others all of the things I knew. I have always been one to ask one hundred questions about something. So to be able to answer questions that I would have asked, was an awesome thought.

By the time I hit 12, I knew I loved to read. I spent hours in the library. (My parent’s never believed I was actually there.. but trust me, I was!) Every chance I got, I was reading. I probably know how to navigate the library better than some of the people that work there. Anyway, while browsing some new sections, I came across the magazine section. There is was. J-14- staring at me from its shelf. I picked it up and was amazed. Why the hell hadn’t I thought that something like this would be out? I sat there for hours flipping through the different issues of the magazines. And that is when my obsession began.

Around the same time the movie “13 Going On 30” came out. For those who don’t know, Jennifer Gardner plays a young girl who travels through time to become herself, a 30 year old emotionless but successful magazine editor. As the movie goes on, you see how she transforms the look of the entire magazine. That’s what I want to do. I want to be in charge of a magazine’s objective. I want to play a big part in the direction and look of a magazine. But, most importantly, I want to be able to teach young girls things.

Take Seventeen magazine, for instance. The magazine does speak on topics like the latest hair and makeup styles, the best jeans for your body and how to shape your eyebrows. But it also talks about things like college, birth control, and how to deal with troubled relationships. And I think that is so important. For one of the worlds leading magazines to influence girls in such a positive way really makes a difference. And I would love to be a part of that!

Can’t wait to start my career.

Sincerely,
The Next Media Guru

Leave a Reply

