I’m No Carrie But I’m Learning

ImageSo, I know I haven’t blogged in a while (even though it doesn’t really matter since I’m not Carrie Bradshaw). But, anywho, I figured that I should pick it back up again. Diaries don’t work for me since I either forget to write in it, get paranoid that someone is going to read it so I monitor what I write, or just literally do not write in it at all. In other news, I did buy this journal that is completely addicting called The Secret Me. Basically, it asks you all these questions that you’ve never even thought of before and makes you really think about what you would chose or write. Pretty awesome if you ask me. 

In new news, this Monday was the first of my two day a week internship and it went well. I have not had to get anyone coffee or anything like that and have even sat in on two meetings already (go me!). 

My life has taken a completely different turn since the semester started. I am so busy it is exhausting just thinking about it. But it is kind of liberating to be so busy. Looking back, I never thought I would be where I am today. I mean, back in high school we all cried because we thought we were never going to see each other again. Turns out, only like 5% of us actually went away for school and when they have a break they come back any way so there is really no time to miss anyone. Who knew!? 

Turning 21 has really propelled my life this year too. I never knew how much I was restricted until I turned 21 and realized all the crap I was missing out on when I was younger. It really does make a difference. But, I am trying to balance it all – wanting to hang out all the time, trying to do great at this internship so I can get a job or be referred to one, wanting to be around my family every chance I get… I mean the list could go on and on. 

What I am excited about is the future though. Forgive me; I know I am all over the place in this post. I haven’t wrote in so long that I am venting and jumping all over the place but whatevs! I guess what I am trying to say is that even though I am not famous or Carrie or getting paid to work and travel to Brooklyn at 8am, I am happy with the way my life is going. I am an adult with bills and responsibility but still a YOUNG adult that is trying to balance life and having fun.

This is supposed to be the time of my life. The early 20s are what it is all about – now is the time I am supposed to make mistakes, swear that I have learned from them and promise to never do it again then mess that same thing up all over again.

That is what I am excited about – messing up until I get it right. And I think that is really important. I don’t have my entire life planned out before me. I mean, yeah, I know what I would want in life and a girl can dream. But for right now I am happy just living in the moment and not worrying about where I am going to be in five years. I only worry about what I am doing today and how I can get to where I want to be in the future with the decisions I make on a day to day basis. 

Take that Carrie Bradshaw. 

2 thoughts on “I’m No Carrie But I’m Learning”

Leave a Reply

